- Part of reopening Oregon includes building the capacity of local county health departments to make contact tracing calls to people who may have come into contact with someone who tested positive for COVID-19. Please visit the OHA’s contact tracing website to learn more about what happens on a contact tracing call.
- U.S. updates: Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
- Statewide updates: Oregon Health Authority
- Governor Kate Brown’s Executive Orders: Oregon Coronavirus Information and Resources Page
- Treated drinking water is safe to consume: Frequently Asked Questions March 2020
- Marion County has developed a new Data Dashboard, which tracks additional demographic information about cases in the County.
COVID-19 Mortgage Relief Program
The COVID-19 Mortgage Relief program is now open to assist Oregonians who have fallen behind on their mortgage during the pandemic. Income-qualified homeowners who came past due on their first-lien mortgage after January 1, 2020 and have experienced a financial hardship may qualify for assistance. Homeowners should visit The Oregon Homeownership Stabilization Initiative to learn whether they qualify and how to apply.
COVID-19 Eviction Moratorium
On December 21, 2020 the Oregon Legislature passed House Bill 4401 extending the moratorium on residential evictions for nonpayment until June 30, 2021 for tenants who declare a financial hardship due to COVID-19. The bill provides the program framework for $200 million in rental assistance funding included in Senate Bill 5731. The package is the product of a workgroup of advocates, tenant groups, and landlords that met over the last several months. It is intended as a compromise approach to meet the needs of both tenants and landlords, prioritizing smaller landlords and those in greatest financial need.
HB 4401 provides the following:
- Extends the eviction moratorium through June 2021 to keep families housed through the school year;
- Directs Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS) to provide distributions to residential landlords for 80 percent of rent owed after April 1, 2020. Landlords may submit one application to OHCS for back rent owed by all tenants who have given the landlord a signed declaration of financial hardship.
- Gives renters more time to pay back rent if their landlord does not access the compensation fund.
Resources are available for both landlords and tenants to better understand the new statewide eviction moratorium and available resources. Tenant resources are available from the Oregon Law Center, including an overview and FAQ document, an explanatory YouTube video, and a sample tenant declaration form. Landlords can visit the Oregon Housing and Community Services website for more information on the Landlord Compensation Fund.
Oregon Rent Relief Due to COVID-19
The State of Oregon has put together an $8.5 million Coronavirus relief package to help tenants pay rent during the pandemic. The money has been divided between 18 local agencies who are tasked with distributing funds to renters, who under the statewide eviction moratorium can delay rent but have to pay it back once the moratorium ends.
Anyone who makes up to 80% of the area median income can apply for rent relief. Applications will be prioritized based on need, and those who’ve been financially impacted by the pandemic will be highest on the list. Renters will need to show proof of income loss. The money is meant to address some of the backlog of rent payments. Tenants whose applications are accepted should see the money go straight from the agency to their landlord.
The Mid-Willamette Valley Community Action Agency (MWVCAA) is distributing the funds for Marion and Polk counties. If you need assistance with rent or utilities, please call:
- For utility bill assistance, call Energy Services at: 503-588-9016.
- For rental assistance, visit MWVCAA's COVID-19 Rent Relief webpage for eligibility, needed documentation, and an online application. You can also call 503-399-9080 (ext. 4003) or email firstname.lastname@example.org to complete an assessment.
City of Silverton Declares a State of Emergency
On March 23, 2020 Mayor Kyle Palmer declared a state of emergency pursuant to Chapter 2.44 of the Silverton Municipal Code. This declaration allows the City additional flexibility in terms of limiting access to public buildings, directing City staff, and delegating resources as well as acquiring needed resources related to health and safety. Under this order the City has done the following:
- Enacted a temporary policy beginning March 27, 2020 the City will not disconnect services for non-payment of utility bills. The City will begin charging late fees, monthly interest charges, and administrative fees for delinquent accounts on July 15, 2020.
- Temporarily closed all City facilities to the public per Governor Kate Brown’s Executive Order 20-12. City Hall limited opening begins July 7, 2020, see details here.
- On July 6, 2020 City Council approved an order requiring face coverings in City owned buildings.
- Cancelled all non-essential public meetings.
How to Access City Services
Please see the COVID-19 latest updates for details on City Hall limited reopening as of July 7. City services will continue to be accessible online and by phone. All staff contacts are accessible through the online staff directory.
Utility Billing and Court
- Payments can be made online: www.xpressbillpay.com.
- Mail check payments to: 306 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR 97381 or a drop box is located as you exit the City Hall parking lot.
- Questions: 503-873-5321 (option 1) or email@example.com.
- Inspection scheduling, inspection results, and tracking the progress of submitted applications may be done online through the Silverton Permit Portal at www.silverton.or.us/367/Search-Permit-Records.
- Inspections may also be scheduled by phone at 503-874-2208.
- Permit applications are available online at https://www.silverton.or.us/94/Permit-Applications-and-Forms and can be emailed to firstname.lastname@example.org, placed in the drop box or mailed to: 306 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR 97381.
- Payments can be placed in the drop box or mailed to: 306 S. Water Street, Silverton, OR 97381.
- Questions: 503-874-2207.
- The Silver Trolley is limiting operations to Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday, Friday and only transporting symptom-free individuals for essential needs such as non-emergency and non-COVID-19 related doctor’s appointments, grocery shopping, prescription pick-up, trips to do laundry, etc.
- Schedule a trip: 503-873-4546.
- For services such as right-of-way permit applications and system development charges: 503-873-8679.
- Water, sewer, traffic and street issues should be directed to the Public Works Maintenance Division: 503-873-6359.
- After hours emergency: 503-991-9795.
- For non-emergencies from 8:00 am – 5:00 pm, Monday – Friday: 503-873-5326.
- After hours: 503-873-5326 listen to message and press #1 for MetCom Dispatch.
- The Oregon State Police released a FAQ relating to the enforcement of Governor Brown’s Executive Order 20-12.
Wave Broadband announced a series of steps to help residential and business customers who’ve been affected directly and indirectly by COVID-19 address expanded internet connectivity needs, as well as mitigate financial hardships. Internet First is an affordable and easy internet option for low-income families who are new customers that live in a Wave service area, for more information visit: www.gowave.com/internet-first.
Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act
The CARES Act includes resources for small businesses, non-profit groups and other employers. This guide provides information about the major programs and initiatives that will soon be available through the act.
For additional resources please visit the Silverton Business Development Center.
Tips for helping stop the spread of COVID-19:
- Maintain 6 feet between you and all other people.
- Wash or sanitize your hands after contact with any surface.
- Do not touch your face, except after washing or sanitizing your hands.
- Avoid groups and contact with people outside your household.
- Follow the Statewide, Mask, Face Shield, Face Covering Guidance.
Stay home if you are sick. Stay home and consult with your doctor or a clinic if you are ill with any of these symptoms:
- Fever of 100° or higher
- Shortness of breath
If you need help finding a clinic, call 211.