Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Permits are good for six months from the date of issue or last inspection, whichever is later. If you experience a delay in your project, you may request an extension for an additional six months.
Permits are required for all new construction, manufactured dwellings and alterations or additions to existing buildings. This includes structural, plumbing, mechanical, and electrical changes. Either the property owner or the contractor is responsible for obtaining structural, mechanical, plumbing, and manufactured dwelling set-up permits. Oregon law requires that if an electrical contractor performs the work, the contractor is responsible for obtaining the permit. Permits are non-transferable.
You do not need a permit for a non-habitable one-story detached accessory structure used as tool and storage sheds, playhouses, and similar uses, provided the floor area does not exceed 200 square feet and the height is no more than 15 feet as measured from the finished floor to the average height of the roof surface.
All detached accessory structures must maintain a minimum set back of 20 feet from the front and 5 feet from rear and side property lines regardless of whether a permit is required or not.
A permit is required to construct, enlarge, alter, move or demolish any one- or two-family dwelling or related structure. For example:
*All modifications to residential houses or units that are intended for sale, lease, rent, or exchange; or, commercial structures or units, require that the work be done by a contractor licensed with the Oregon Construction Contractor's Board (CCB).
Install or alter any permanent wiring or electrical device.
Run additional wiring, put in an electrical outlet or light fixture, install a receptacle for a garage-door opener, or convert from fuse box to circuit breakers.
Install or alter permanent low-voltage systems such as security alarms or stereo or computer systems.
You must be both the owner and the occupant of a dwelling to obtain a permit to do electrical work yourself. You may not perform any electrical installations or modifications on a house or residential unit that is intended for sale, lease, rent, or exchange.
If you are not sure if you need a permit, please call the building department at (503) 874-2207.
Replace water heaters, alter piping inside a wall or ceiling or beneath a floor, and for plumbing in all new installations.
Repair, alteration, or replacement of freeze-damaged or leaking concealed piping, if new piping exceeds 3 feet.
Remodeling or adding on to your one or two family dwelling when existing plumbing is to be relocated. This includes installation of building sewers, water service, and exterior rain drains.
A plumbing permit is not required in the following circumstances: When a property owner does “ordinary minor repairs” to plumbing systems on his or her own property where he or she resides, which means repair, replacement, or maintenance of existing accessible fixtures, parts, and appliances and their related water and drain attachments. Do not alter an existing plumbing system without a permit. When a property owner or licensed plumber performs emergency repairs to, or replacement of, freeze-damaged or leaking concealed piping, provided new piping doesn’t exceed 3 feet in length.
Install or change any part of a heating or cooling system that must be vented into any kind of chimney, including unvented decorative appliances
Install a woodstove, fireplace insert, pellet stove, or related venting
Install, alter, or repair gas piping between the meter and an appliance (indoors or outdoors)
Install bath fans, dryer exhausts, kitchen range exhausts, and appliances that are required to be vented
You can check online at https://www.oregon.gov/ccb/homeowner/Pages/reliablecontractor.aspx or call the Construction Contractors Board at (503) 378-4621.